The Asbestos Disease Awareness Organization Announces Its Honorees for the 15th Annual International Asbestos Awareness and Prevention Conference

The Asbestos Disease Awareness Organization (ADAO), an independent nonprofit dedicated to preventing asbestos exposure; today announced the honorees for its 15th Annual International Asbestos Awareness and Prevention Conference, “Where Knowledge and Action Unite,” April 5-7, 2019 in Washington, D.C.

This year’s academic conference recognizes a number of distinguished individuals who have given of themselves to help in the fight against asbestos disease, to help influence a ban, and uncover injustices that have led to our current asbestos crisis.

2019 Asbestos Awareness Conference Honorees Include:

Congressman Frank Pallone, Jr.
The Tribute of Hope Award

The Canadian Ban Asbestos Heroes: Victims, Activists, Trade Unions, and Lawmakers,
The Tribute of Inspiration Award.

Dr. Eula Bingham, Dr. Daniela Degiovanni, and Dr. Steven Markowitz
The Dr. Irving Selikoff Lifetime Achievement Award Honorees

Harminder Bains, Courtney Davis Hissong, Conor Lewis and Zack Johnson, Daniel Lambo, and Paolo Monico.
The Alan Reinstein Award Honorees

“Without the dedication of these honorees and our global family of asbestos warriors, we would be nowhere in the fight to ban asbestos and end its horrible tragedy,” stated ADAO President and Co-Founder, Linda Reinstein. “This year’s annual conference recognizes key individuals who have made a tangible difference in our united fight against asbestos, and to help influence a ban. The list includes a wide range of political activists, journalists, medical practitioners, and most importantly—individual asbestos warriors—who keep our movement going. We are enormously thankful for their tireless work, dedication, and self-sacrifice. In unity, there is power and hope.”

ADAO’s annual conference has brought together experts, survivors, unions, and lawmakers from nearly 20 countries to connect and share the latest education, advocacy, and community support efforts.

This year’s academic conference features many experts from around the world; and is the only annual asbestos conference dedicated solely to preventing exposure and eliminating asbestos-caused diseases. Attendees have a unique opportunity to connect with the leaders and influencers in the asbestos prevention community, as well as victims and family members sharing in the fight against asbestos—turning anger into action. Dr. David Michaels will deliver the Saturday Keynote Address. David McCumber will deliver The Andrew Schneider Memorial Lecture. Read the full list of honorees.

Conference Registration is open and can be accessed here.

About the Asbestos Disease Awareness Organization

The Asbestos Disease Awareness Organization (ADAO) is a global leader in combining education, advocacy, and community initiatives to prevent and end asbestos exposure. ADAO seeks to raise public awareness about the dangers of asbestos, advocate for an asbestos ban, and protect asbestos victims’ civil rights. For more information, visit ADAO, a registered 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization, does not make legal referrals.