The American Foundation for Suicide Prevention Elects New National Board Members

NEW YORK, Dec. 17, 2020 /PRNewswire/ -- The nation's largest suicide prevention organization, the American Foundation for Suicide Prevention, today announced the appointment of five new board members to its National Board of Directors. In their new roles, effective January 1, 2021, these board members will support the organization in its mission to save lives and bring hope to those affected by suicide.

"Suicide is one of our nation's leading, yet preventable causes of death. It's through the leadership and dedication of those who serve on the national board that we will advance suicide prevention in our country," said AFSP CEO Robert Gebbia. "We would like to congratulate our new National Board Members and thank them for volunteering their time, expertise and passion in helping us fight suicide. As we strive to reduce the national suicide rate 20 percent by the year 2025, the work of these new board leaders' is imperative to helping us reach this bold goal."

There will now be 26 members of the National Board of Directors, with each member serving at least one three-year term. The newly elected board members include:

    --  Erika Barber, corporate trainer and AFSP Illinois chapter volunteer
    --  Arthur C. Evans Jr., Ph.D., CEO of the American Psychological
    --  Denisse Lamas, Licensed Clinical Social Worker and AFSP Central Florida
        chapter volunteer
    --  Dr. Michael A. Lindsey, Executive Director of the McSilver Institute for
        Poverty Policy and Research at New York University (NYU), the Constance
        and Martin Silver Professor of Poverty Studies at NYU Silver School of
        Social Work
    --  Cara McNulty, President, Behavioral Health & EAP at Aetna, a CVS Health

Three members completing their term on the Board, include: (1) Rick Kirchhoff, (2) Phil Ninan, and (3) Phil Satow. The organization thanks them for their service on the AFSP Board of Directors.

The election of the new members took place on December 2, 2020.

The American Foundation for Suicide Prevention is dedicated to saving lives and bringing hope to those affected by suicide. AFSP creates a culture that's smart about mental health through education and community programs, develops suicide prevention through research and advocacy, and provides support for those affected by suicide. Led by CEO Robert Gebbia and headquartered in New York, AFSP has local chapters in all 50 states with programs and events nationwide. Learn more about AFSP in its latest Annual Report, and join the conversation on suicide prevention by following AFSP on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and YouTube.

View original content to download multimedia:

SOURCE American Foundation for Suicide Prevention