Last Update September 29, 2022


  • Ships, Vessels, Submarines & related equipment

ASC exists to serve the frontline of Australia's naval defence capabilities. Initially established in 1985 as Australian Submarine Corporation, ASC was subsequently chosen in 1987 as the prime contractor for the design, manufacture and delivery of the Royal Australian Navy's (RAN) fleet of six Collins Class submarines.

At the conclusion of the Collins Class submarine build program in 2003, ASC commenced a 25-year contract with Defence Materiel Organisation (DMO) for the ongoing repair, maintenance and design upgrades of the submarines through life. This contract was replaced with a new In Service Support Contract in mid-2012.

In 2005, ASC was awarded the role of Shipbuilder for the Hobart Class Air Warfare Destroyer (AWD) project. This program sees the most advanced and complex warships ever built in Australia being constructed at ASC's state-of-the-art shipbuilding facility - ASC South - located at Osborne, South Australia.

Today, ASC has evolved into Australia's largest specialised defence shipbuilding organisation, with naval design and engineering resources unparalleled within Australia's defence industry. The company employs over 2,600 permanent personnel across three facilities in South Australia and Western Australia.

Collins Class Submarine

The Collins Class project was established by the Royal Australian Navy (RAN) in 1982. Replacing the RAN's Oberon Class submarines, the Collins Class design was required to meet the unique needs of the Navy, which were dictated by, among other things, Australia's geographic location.

The submarines would be required to travel great distances, operate in varying environments, have state-of-the-art weapons systems and perform traditional submarine functions using the most advanced technology available. The submarines would also be required to protect Australia through their very existance, acting as a deterrent to any enemy forces. It was decided that large conventional submarines would be acquired. The Collins Class submarines are the second largest non-nuclear powered submarines in the world.

In 1987, the newly formed Australian Submarine Corporation (now ASC Pty Ltd), began the task of designing and building the most sophisticated conventional submarine in the world. The submarines' design was based on the Type 471 design from Swedish shipbuilder Kockums. Construction of the first Collins Class submarine, HMAS Collins commenced in 1990 and it was delivered to the RAN in 1996. The sixth and final boat, HMAS Rankin, was delivered to the RAN in 2003.

The Collins Class submarines are a key element of Australia's Defence Force, both as an intelligence-gathering platform during peace time and as a forceful opponent during times of war. The six submarine class of HMAS Collins, HMAS Farncomb, HMAS Waller, HMAS Dechaineux, HMAS Sheean and HMAS Rankin achieves an optimum match between innovation and proven technical superiority.

Hobart Class Air Warfare Destroyer

The requirement for the new air warfare destroyers (AWDs) was outlined in the 2000 Defence White Paper, while the acquisition of three ships was confirmed in the 2009 Defence White Paper.

The AWD project provides the Royal Australian Navy with one of the world's most capable multi-mission warships. In selecting the Spanish F100 as the baseline platform design, and coupling it with the Aegis Weapon System, the Australian Government has ensured tomorrow's Navy has the best equipment to defend Australia and its national interests.

In January 2006 the Government announced that the AWDs was to be named HMAS Hobart, HMAS Brisbane and HMAS Sydney, ensuring the three ships reflect a rich history of service.

The names of the Collins Class submarines commemorate the memory of six members of the RAN who served their country with distinction.


  • 694 Mersey Road North, South Australia, 5017, Osborne, Adelaide, Australia
  • +61 8 8348 7000
  • +61 8 8348 7001
Add to favorites