22 Innovators to be Inducted as the National Inventors Hall of Fame Class of 2020

ALEXANDRIA, Va., Feb. 11, 2020 /PRNewswire/ -- In conjunction today with Thomas Edison's birthday and National Inventors Day, the National Inventors Hall of Fame(® )(NIHF), in partnership with the United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO), announces it will induct 22 innovation leaders for their world-changing inventions on May 6-7 during the Greatest Celebration of American Innovation(®).

Experience the interactive Multichannel News Release here:

    --  This year's class of Inductees includes innovators such as Lisa Lindahl,
        Hinda Miller and Polly Smith (Sports Bra); Mick Mountz, Peter Wurman and
        Raffaello D'Andrea (Mobile Robotic Material Handling for Order
        Fulfillment); Margaret Wu (Synthetic Lubricants); and Floyd Smith
        (Modern Parachute), just to name a few. To view the full list of 2020
        Inductees, visit our Inductee page.

The two-day event will feature:

    --  Illumination Ceremony, May 6: The ceremony will take place at the
        National Inventors Hall of Fame Museum at the USPTO Headquarters
        in?Alexandria, Virginia. This intimate event gives the 2020 Inductee
        class the opportunity to place their names on illuminated hexagons in
        the Gallery of Icons((TM) )exhibit, forever commemorating their
        Induction into the Hall of Fame. Although this private event is open to
        the media, it is not open to the public.
    --  48(th) Annual National Inventors Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony, May 7:
        This black-tie event will be held at the National Building Museum in
        Washington, D.C. For a second year, Danica McKellar -- star of the TV
        show "The Wonder Years," Hallmark Channel regular and author of New York
        Times bestselling McKellar Math books -- will serve as master of
        ceremonies. The general reception begins at 6:30 p.m. with the formal
        dinner and awards ceremony beginning at 7 p.m. The night will conclude
        with an Innovation Celebration After Party at 9:30 p.m., where guests
        will have the opportunity to meet the 2020 Inductees.

"Innovation is the foundation for everything we do at the National Inventors Hall of Fame," said NIHF CEO Michael Oister. "Our class of 2020 -- and their world-changing inventions as diverse as ibuprofen, optical fiber, the word processor and the parachute -- will be incorporated into our Innovation Ecosystem and our leading children's STEM programs such as Camp Invention®."

Sponsors of the 2020 National Inventors Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony include the USPTO, Qualcomm and PhRMA.

To learn more about sponsorship opportunities for the Induction Ceremony, call 330-849-6946 or view sponsorship packages.

Follow the National Inventors Hall of Fame Facebook and?Twitter pages on May 6-7 to receive updates from the event in real time.

About the National Inventors Hall of Fame
The National Inventors Hall of Fame (NIHF) is the premier nonprofit organization in America dedicated to recognizing inventors and invention, promoting creativity, and advancing the spirit of innovation and entrepreneurship. Founded in 1973 in partnership with the United States Patent and Trademark Office, NIHF is committed to not only honoring the individuals whose inventions have made the world a better place, but to ensuring American ingenuity continues to thrive in the hands of coming generations through its national, hands-on educational programming and collegiate competitions focused on the exploration of science, technology, engineering and mathematics. Explore the NIHF Museum digitally in Google Arts & Culture's "Once Upon a Try" project. For more information, visit invent.org. To nominate an inventor for Induction, visit invent.org/nominate.

Ken Torisky
National Inventors Hall of Fame








View original content:http://www.prnewswire.com/news-releases/22-innovators-to-be-inducted-as-the-national-inventors-hall-of-fame-class-of-2020-301002635.html

SOURCE National Inventors Hall of Fame